Florida is a great place to ride and have fun. But getting in trouble with the law can quickly take all the fun out of a ride. The best way to avoid legal problems is to be aware of what the law requires and then comply. If you are new to Florida or just visiting, you may not be aware of Florida’s statutes regarding motorcycles. Here’s a brief description of the major requirements and prohibitions. For more detail you can review the actual statutes. Be safe, obey the law and have fun.
- No helmet required IF over 21 with proof of at least $10,000 of medical insurance. Otherwise, must wear a DOT-Approved helmet. (316.311 f.s.)
- Eye Protection (316.211 f.s.)
- Valid Motorcycle Operator’s License (322.03 f.s.)
- Headlight must be turned on. (316.405 f.s.)
- No motorcycle can overtake and pass in same lane occupied by vehicle (including another motorcycle) being passed (316.209 f.s.)
- Riding between lanes (316.209 f.s.)
- Obstructing (blocking) traffic (316.2045 f.s.)
- Showing or displaying blue lights (no blue dot lens) (316.2397 f.s.)
Motorcycle Helmet Exemption
In an effort to answer questions regarding the motorcycle helmet exemption law, the Florida Department ty & Motor Vehicles has provided the following information:
Who is eligible? Only persons who are 21 years of age or older and who are covered by insurance providing at least $10,000 in medical benefits.
When did the law take effect? It went into effect July 1, 2000.
What proof of insurance is required? The department is advising law enforcement to accept a health insurance card (or actual policy or declarations page) from a HMO or Blue Cross/Blue Shield or some other recognized health insurance provider as proof. The card must show current insurance. In addition, limited motorcycle medical coverage will also suffice. Contact your insurance carrier for more information. However, PIP coverage under a personal passenger vehicle policy would be insufficient for either the operator or passenger on the motorcycle.
Can I get pulled over by law enforcement just for not wearing a helmet? The department has determined enforcement for this provision should be secondary. That is, an officer should not initiate a traffic stop only to determine insurance coverage. However, an officer may stop a motorcycle if the officer suspects the operator or passenger is under 21.